You are here

2017 SwimBC Open Water Swimming Championships

BC swimmers continued to light up the water; however this time at Canoe Beach in Salmon Arm. The Columbia Shuswap Selkirks Swimming Club (CSSSC) hosted the 2017 BC Open Water Swimming Championships. It was an excellent day for open water swimming, with good weather and visibility at this "Florida north oasis". 

For the Women’s 11-12 1km race, Kara Beauregard (CRKW) had the fastest 1km time for both males and females. She touched in a time of 15:05.37 to win gold, followed by Naeva Scott Bouris (UVPCS) and Caitlin Carey (VPSC). The Men’s 1km race saw Niall Johnson (SPART) take gold in a time of 16:20.94. Hiro Hiruki (VPSC) and Jadyn Johnston (KMSC) had a tight race until the end, where Hiruki touched in 16:43.02, just ahead of Johnston who touched in 16:47.30. 

The Women’s 13-14 2km saw a breathtakingly close race for gold, with Isabella Brunoro (SFA) prevailing over Ashley McMillan (KISU) by a mere 0.27 seconds. The girls touched in 27:42.56 and 27:42.83, respectively. Teagan Hunt (UVPCS) followed less than ten seconds behind to snag the bronze medal. The men’s race was more spread out, with host club swimmer Ethan Skofteby (CSSSC) hit the board in 26:17.94 to capture the gold medal. Jordan Cowan (ISC) followed for silver with a time of 27:04.36, and Jakob Brager (RAC) touched in 28:10.51 to take bronze. 

Another host club swimmer dominated the Women’s 15 and over 5km race: Chantel Jeffrey (CSSSC) touched first in a time of 1:05:32.97. Sophia Brunoro (SFA) and other host club swimmer Molly Fogarty (CSSSC) had a tight race down to the final stretch, with Brunoro nabbing the silver medal in a time of 1:06:45.12 and Fogarty coming in third with a time of 1:06:51. 28. The Men’s 15 and over 5km race had two close medal races for both gold and bronze. The Woinoski brothers dominated the top three in this race, with Andrew Woinoski (SFA) touching first in a time of 1:01:46.04. He was followed closely by brother Alex Woinoski (SFA) who touched for silver in a time of 1:01:48.00. One of the highlights of the event came from the race for the bronze medal between Ethan Phillips (ISC) and Tim Woinoski (SFA). The two men had a great sprint down the final stretch of the race course to try to take the final medal place. In the end, Phillips out-touched the oldest Woinoski by a mere 2.86 seconds to claim the bronze in a time of 1:02:21.12, disrupting a potential Woinoski podium sweep.

A huge thank you to all officials, volunteers, and our host club CSSSC for the very well run morning of incredible open water swimming. Also, thanks to UVPCS for the use of the swim buoys for the race course! Congratulations to all of the swimmers for their excellent efforts and results.

*Story originally from